Holi hai – celebrating holi in the hills!

Last year, I spent two wonderful weeks in Kalap, a charming village in Garhwali Himalayas. Lucky that I was, my stay coincided with holi and I was able to witness the festival as it was celebrated in the hills.

I became the official photographer for Kalap’s holi celebrations and by the end of it, although I survived without being doused in color powder, my camera bore the brunt. Later in the evening, I helped make Gujjia – the holi special, a sweet calzone. Its deep fried packets of dough are filled with a roasted mixture of semolina, desiccated coconut, jaggery (a traditional sugar) and raisins. By the end of its making, my host Guddu’s wife, Pathuli – meaning butterfly in the local language – has thawed towards me after witnessing my able handedness at rolling and sealing the Gujjias.

That is probably the best holi I ever celebrated. More than just holi, Kalap and its beautiful people remain etched in my memory. I hope to visit Guddu, Pathuli and the entire village again sometime soon. Check Kalap’s website here to know more details to plan your trip, in case you are interested too.

Someone's very cautious!
Someone’s very cautious!
The gulal brothers
The gulal brothers
Are you photographing me?
Are you photographing me?
Red cheeks
Red cheeks
Gulal in my cheeks
Gulal in my cheeks
Holi in the hills
Holi in the hills
The gulal brothers
The gulal brothers
Holi in technicolor
Holi in technicolor
The gulal brothers
The gulal brothers
The holi revelry
The holi revelry
Too shy to smile - holi in Kalap
Too shy to smile – holi in Kalap
The holi revelry
The holi revelry
And then, me
And then, me

Are you celebrating holi wherever you are? Leave a comment and let me know.

One thought on “Holi hai – celebrating holi in the hills!

  1. Holi is one day in the calendar when we drop propriety and caution to the winds, joke with our elders, play with our teachers, say “I love you” to some one you have a crush on, and just have a jolly good time Happy holi

Leave a Reply

