A goodbye to Bangalore and lessons on living light.

Have you ever lived, even briefly, in a house with bare walls, empty bookshelves and a kitchen so stripped of its wares it looks like a riot mob just, well, ran riot? I have been living like that for a few days now and take it from me, it’s not a nice feeling. I have watched the municipal sweepers who are assigned on my street move stuff after stuff and pack it in cartons either to recycle or take it away to the dump yard. Like pond herons fishing in shallow waters, they carefully lift each item away until my house is entirely empty and all that’s left is my life’s wares neatly packed in a backpack and a suitcase. They didn’t have to work a lot because I have lived frugally.

my-empty-house

I haven’t been hoarding a lot (if you discount the huge cartons that I saved for moving). Many of my books were gifted and some of them were exchanged in Blossoms, for new, unread ones that is being carted with me. Kitchen appliances, utensils, pillows, sheets, a spare steel cot, board games, yada yada yada went away to the above mentioned personnel. A bare minimum was sold to friends.

hiking-in-the-ural-mountains

Is it cathartic? Both yes and no. The house certainly feels empty now both literally and figuratively. And I am scatterbrained with little to no head-space to work. So, in effect, I can’t feel the catharsis. But I’m a giver, not attached to a lot of possessions (according to at least, one of my friends). That makes me sound like a saint (which I’m certainly not) but if you’ve known me even briefly you’d know. If you express interest in anything I possess, I’ll offer it to you. Or offer to buy you a similar one.

the-colombo-galle-train

That brings me to the topic. I’m leaving Bangalore. I don’t believe in forever but this does feel like an irreversible move. Where am I going to? Germany. Don’t ask me how I don’t recollect this detail but another good friend tells me how I used to talk about wanting to live in Germany ten years ago when we shared a room in a barracks, bordering the arid desert of Wadi Kabir in the suburbs of Muscat. Deserts can have that effect on one, I tell ya.

Bangalore has given me so much – lovely friends who opened up their hearts and houses to me and sometimes take me on spontaneous bird watching trips, rava idlis and obattus at many upaharas, tall stouts at Toit, the wildly optimistic jacarandas on Koramangala’s streets and rambling walks in its parks – Cubbon and LalBagh. I will forever be grateful and nostalgic about all that represents Bangalore (heck, I’m even carrying a pack of MTR puliogare mix and avalakki.)

bangalore-palace

This uprooting and replanting myself, is a major move, something I haven’t done in a decade (right after Oman happened). I’m excited, thrilled and scared in equal measures. Excited about the possibilities but scared about what it takes to re-build myself from the scratch. But it also, perhaps, provides me opportunities to shape myself as a completely different individual (wishful thinking, that).

Either way, this space will exist though I’m not sure right now how it’ll evolve. I will post, if not regularly, at least once a month. Wish me luck and watch me stumble, struggle and make progress in Germany.

Most of all, keep in touch, okay?

18 thoughts on “A goodbye to Bangalore and lessons on living light.

  1. Wish you good health and happiness in this new stage of your life. I hope we meet before you leave. I will be back from the Himalaya on the 9th of Nov.

  2. That’s going to be a fun move! I’ve only visited Germany a bunch of times, but I love how forward-thinking and open it is; I’m sure it’ll be quite an experience to actually live there. Which part of the country?

  3. Hi Prathap! Glad to hear that, actually because of two reasons one my sister lives in Germany, remember about that Indian meal in an Indian restaurant which actually couldn’t happen and two I have been to the country and I just love the feel like Shivya too mentioned in her comment.
    So here’s wishing you a lot of luck and happiness.

  4. Bon voyage and enjoy your next chapter!

    Will be quite a contrast and know of several folks who have struggled and some flourish in the India – German dichotomy. Having spent time in both countries (more India than Germany) will be interesting indeed to hear how you navigate your new life! 🙂

    BTW one blog about life in Germany you may find amusing is Linda’s https://expateyeongermany.wordpress.com

    1. Hello Carissa, thanks a lot for the comment and so terribly sorry for replying so late. Just clicked on Linda’s blog and following her 🙂 I do hope to write about how I navigate my new life here 🙂 Thanks again.

Leave a Reply

